easy cooking: “Asian”-styled curry

Sorry for the dark picture. You might not know this but dinner is usually cooked at night.

I love curry. It bears repeating: I. LOVE. CURRY.

Potatoes: Love.

Meat: Love.

Peas: Love.

Jasmine Rice: Love.

Curry Powder: LOVE LOVE LOVE.

I don’t care that it never, er, exits well for me. It’s all worth it. When I was living alone, I’d make a giant vat of it and just survive on that throughout the week. I only know how to make Asian-styled curry (I know, India is part of Asia, but we’re forgetting that little geographical detail). I can’t put my finger on what exactly is different, but I can always tell authentic curry made from fob Indian mothers from the Asian counterparts. Maybe it’s the fact that Asian curry isn’t so full of spices that it takes my tongue off (in an awesome, awesome way), but I’m just guessing.

I honestly don’t remember the exact measurements I used for this curry recipe, but it’s really easy to figure it out yourself: in a medium sized pot, saute your onions a little bit, add a LITTLE bit of finely chopped garlic, hot peppers if you want, some curry powder, and whatever other seasonings that you choose. Then add some chicken and sear it on both sides. Add about 2 tablespoons of flour*. Fill the pot with chicken broth, put the lid tightly over it (I’d put something on top of the lid), and simmer for half an hour. Add the potatoes and simmer until they’re nice and soft.

*The flour thickens the mix. Check every so often to make sure it hasn’t thickened too much. If it does, just add some water to it.

DELICIOUS.

One response to “easy cooking: “Asian”-styled curry

  1. hey, friend. let’s make curry together some day. i love it, too. ;)

Leave a Reply

